Audiophile’s Techno Thoughts — Playlist Generators

There are some thoughts I’d like to a. document but b. share, too. They are about — no, not about Techno music! — programming issues, or just ideas I would find useful if they where already realized. Maybe they are and only I don’t know about it jet. But also, I might be the one realizing them… let’s see.

Well, one thing that came to my mind by playing around with the MusicIP Mixer: Wasn’t it cool to have a free library like thing laying around that could easily be user by a software music player (or even extended to video, i.e. media player) to generate playlists similar to the MusicIP Mixer? To be more precise the features I’m thinking about are:

  • generate playlists by user selected music title from library, that is giving back a list of songs from the user’s music library that have similar mood, tempo, harmony, …
  • start playing tracks from the lib. The user can skip or pin it. Either one “pin” (as in MusicIP Mixer) is enough to start generating the list or maybe even keep on with more appropriate music (closer in the above terms). That’s especially useful for those audiophiles that just cannot remember artists or track names (like me). But also it’s faster in terms of I don’t have to sit down first and think about what I’d like to here right now but rather can just find out what I’d wanted to listen to in the first place.

To brake it down, the key note here is to have two methods generating playlists that are end-user orientated. You may ask: “Well, what the hack is so special about it? You mentioned MusicIP Mixer yourself, that does exactly that!” No, it does not. MusicIP Mixer, as fare as I know, is closed source. But more importantly the list generates are encapsulated within the Mixer software and cannot (again, as far as I know) be used by other software that MusicIP Mixer itself (I’ll digg in to find out when time permits). The generators that is; one can have the generated lists send to one’s music player of choice, easily. Which is fair dinkum.

An example: As of now I chose foobar2k to be my favorite music player as it is very customizable and produces good enough sound for my HiFi (gapless playback, replaygain, multiple format support, “tabbed playlisting“, has plugin API to name a few features and components). I runs more or less 24/7. Through the foo_playlist_tree I wrote a query which gives me 10h of random music, not yet listened to or not for more than two weeks. Of course there are also queries by audio format, … just by any combination of normal audio file tags plus more. But still if I might just want say 40 min of jogging music… mmh, that I could manage by all means, plus also the hassle of time consuming transfer to your portable player if your on the run… Not a good example. OK, imagine sitting on the couch with your fb2k (keyboard remote control configured, of course) ready to blast your ears away but you just can think of what so listen to. Even with my iPAQ running Minibar2k this would not really what ease my relaxed mood. Getting it? Comments, as always, appreciated!

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , ,

3 Comments

  1. Monday, 15th Jul 2013 at 05:01

    Simply want to say your article is as amazing.
    The clarity in your post is just excellent and i can assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

  2. Thursday, 27th Aug 2009 at 10:09

    Very informative article – thanks ..;

  3. Wednesday, 20th May 2009 at 22:17

    Neat writing!! Hope to come back again..


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

