Opera: X Shared memory extension is not available. ZPixmap not supported

It fell out of the skies today that Opera suddenly wouldn’t load any pages, not even feeds. I ran it from command line and got this not very verbose message:

Opera: X Shared memory extension is not available. ZPixmap not supported

So to find anything useful I had to start Firefox… 😉 I did find something not via google but rather right at the source at opera forums. That got me started. I tested if that was the problem by adding the suggested line to /etc/X11/xorg.conf (not without backing up the config file!) and restarted X before installing the brand new driver version as suggested.

X Shared memory extension seams to be available now — no more error message at start up. But still Opera doesn’t load any web content.

Than I moved the preferences folder to a backup location for testing. Now Opera seams to work fine. But what use if all my preferences are lost?!? Anyway, since I don’t have the time to dig in deeper and I cannot find anything on Opera’s forum on this issue I might as well just copy the important preference files over to the “fresh install” and change the rest of my settings manually. After all it’s always a good idea to start over once in a while…

Ressources:

6 Comments

  1. BestChanel said,

    Thursday, 16th Aug 2018 at 08:13

    I have noticed you don’t monetize your website, don’t waste
    your traffic, you can earn additional bucks every month.
    You can use the best adsense alternative for any type of website
    (they approve all websites), for more info simply
    search in gooogle: boorfe’s tips monetize your website

  2. LastElke said,

    Saturday, 6th Jan 2018 at 12:05

    I have noticed you don’t monetize your page, don’t waste your traffic, you can earn additional bucks every
    month because you’ve got high quality content. If
    you want to know how to make extra bucks, search for: Mertiso’s tips best adsense alternative

  3. Thursday, 30th Jul 2009 at 02:11

    Damn, that sound’s so easy if you think about it.

  4. Andy said,

    Monday, 16th Mar 2009 at 17:21

    I consider Opera to be a viable alternative to firefox. Firefox 3.0.6 was terrible on my old ibm R31 as was the 2.x series.

    It crashed.. Alot! I don’t know if 3.0.7 would be as bad but- I’ve hardly used it.

    I’d love to remove Firefox completely but until Opera is fully supported by Ubuntu I don’t think I will.

    One major problem I’m having with Opera is that it won’t connect automatically to Austin Libraries wifi network. Firefox does this without any complaints. Opera gives me an error message stating that a request was made of my intranet and was blocked.

    I’ve fiddled with the security settings and managed to connect through Opera- but I’m still a bit nervous about using it as my main browser. I guess I’ll be googling the no zpixmap support again to see whether or not it’ll be a major problem in the future.

    I love saving files in .mht format though!!! It rocks. The only downside is that every .txt file on ubuntu is opened up by opera unless I specifically select the text editor.

    It’s a minor niggle but if any of you guys know how to fix it I’d really appreciate it.

    P.S. Thanks for reading this long winded post. 🙂

    • sysblog said,

      Monday, 16th Mar 2009 at 21:58

      Hi Andy.

      Well, your second problem can be solved quickly: Open Nautilus, your file manager, right-click any .txt file you’ve got, select preferences and go to your “open with” tab. Select the text editor you what to automatically open .txt files with. Done.

      As for connecting to Wifi networks I can only say that this is done by some other application running in the background, called Gnome NetworkManager. I don’t know why this would work nicely with FF but not with Opera but would suspect it has to do with FF integration into Ubuntu (which will change in later Ubuntu versions by the way).

      Hope that helped,
      cheers!

  5. asdasda said,

    Wednesday, 4th Feb 2009 at 01:41

    yes it’s a really good idea to start over,
    from version to version useless and incompatibles files tend to add up.
    thanks for the link, i have almost the same problem.
    oh besides, it works for me, even it display that message,
    but if u disable enable xft fonts, it raises a segmentation fault.


Leave a comment